Chat with us, powered by LiveChat


State Electrical Licensing Requirements

Tennessee has Limited Licensed Electricians and contractor licensing. For more information, visit the Department of Commerce and Insurance’s website.


Tennessee has reciprocal agreements for trade examination waiver only with the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Georgia
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina

Electricians cannot operate in Tennessee with another state's license. Tennessee also accepts the NASCLA National Commercial exam. Contractors with licenses from the above states must still take the Tennessee Business and Law exam and complete all application requirements prior to being licensed in Tennessee.


500 James Robertson Pkwy
Nashville, TN 37243-0565
Phone: 615.741.2241